Education in the College

The College is the largest provider of undergraduate education in the University with more than 5,800 students. We have over 900 graduate coursework students, and over 670 students enrolled in Higher Degree by Research programs.

Who manages education in the College?

Professor Bronwyn Parry
College Dean 

Dr Geoff Hinchcliffe
Associate Dean (Education)

Professor Samantha Bennett
Associate Dean (Higher Degree Research)

How are decisions about education made?

The Dean of the College carries ultimate responsibility for all decisions about educational matters in the College. She is advised by the Deputy Dean, the Associate Deans, including the Associate Dean (Education), who chairs the CASS College Education Committee (CEC). The Higher Degree Research (HDR) Sub-committee is chaired by the Associate Dean (Higher Degree Research). Each School in the College has its own committee, where important debates and conversations about teaching and learning take place. Recommendations from these School-based committees are taken forward by School representatives on the CEC. Members of the CEC come from both the academic and the professional staff of the College, including several Heads of School, from the student body, and from other Colleges of the University.

CASS College Education Committee (CEC)

Members of the CASS College Education Committee:

  • Monitor the quality of our programs through processes such as student evaluation and benchmarking.
  • Recommend to the University Academic Quality Assurance Committee the approval of academic programs and courses developed by the teaching Schools of the College.
  • Review the content of courses and ensure that their assessment complies with University and College policies.
  • Develop College rules governing education on topics such as extensions for assignments, word limits for assessment.

Academic staff from the College and representatives of ANUSA are represented on the CASS CEC. The secretariat support for the CASS CEC is provided by the Education Team. The email address for the committee is

What support is provided for those teaching in the College?

The College’s Education Office provides assistance for those teaching in the College: curriculum design, teaching quality, technology in education, prizes and grants, support for projects initiated by the Associate Dean (Education), and the College’s education committees: CASS CEC and the HDR Sub-committee.

Search this site only

Updated:  8 November 2022/Responsible Officer:  CASS Marketing & Communications/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications