College Executive

The ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences (CASS) is a diverse community of scholars, professional and administrative staff committed to generating ideas, challenging stereotypes and accepted wisdom, pushing the boundaries of intellectual thought and producing new empirical findings that inform policy and practice debates across the country across the humanities, social sciences and the creative arts.

The College is led by the Dean and the College Executive, comprising the Directors of our academic units (Research School of Social Sciences, Research School of Humanities & the Arts) and the College General Manager. The College of Arts and Social Science staff are committed to building collegiality and to nurturing the talents of staff and students.

The College academic, professional and administrative staff are located across several buildings and centres due to the large size of our academic and teaching scope and its role in interdisciplinary discussion and research. Currently, the College has over 800 people as staff consisting of approximately 320 academic staff, 200 professional and administrative staff and over 300 sessional and casual staff.

The Executive of the College of Arts and Social Sciences are:

College Dean Professor Bronwyn Parry
Associate Dean (Education)

Associate Professor Geoff Hinchcliffe
Associate Dean (International)

Dr Beatrice Bijon
Sub Dean (Indigenous Studies)

Ms Mary Spiers Williams
Associate Dean (Research)

Professor Darren Halpin
Associate Dean (Student Experience and Integrity)

Associate Professor Lucy Neave
Associate Dean (Higher Degree Research) Professor Samantha Bennett
Director, Research School of Humanities & the Arts Professor Kate Mitchell
Director, Research School of Social Sciences

Professor Christian Barry
College General Manager Mr Matt Talbot

To contact the College and its staff, please see the Contact the College page.

Search this site only

Updated:  28 August 2023/Responsible Officer:  CASS Marketing & Communications/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications