50 years of the HC Coombs Creative Arts Fellowship

L-R: Andrew Pike with film maker and ANU Creative Arts Fellow Arthur Cantrill, 1969. Photo courtesy of ANU Archives.

About the Fellowship

For 50 years the HC Coombs Creative Arts Fellowship has welcomed the best visual artists, painters, sculptors, photographers, writers, musicians, composers and filmmakers to The Australian National University (ANU) to share their experience and knowledge with our students and academic community.

The Creative Arts Fellowship, which was a first of its kind for an Australian university, was initiated in 1965 by then ANU Pro-Chancellor HC ‘Nugget’ Coombs. The Fellowship was designed to extend the University’s reach from research in sciences to the creative arts. In honour of its founder, the Fellowship was renamed in 1998.

Today, the Fellowship continues to foster a two-way flow of information between visiting fellows and the ANU community through outreach activities, including public lectures and workshops. Together the University community celebrates the Fellowship’s rich history and looks forward to its continued success.


HC Coombs Creative Arts Fellows

Robyn Davidson, 2005

Robyn Davidson

Narritjin Maymuru, 1978

Narritjin Maymuru

Arthur Boyd, 1971

Arthur Boyd

» Discover more about HC Coombs Creative Arts Fellows


Fellows in conversation

Andrew Farriss of rock band INXS is the 2015 HC Coombs Creative Arts Fellow.


George Dreyfus is an award-winning Australian composer who was a Creative Fellow in 1967-68.


Fellows on ArtSound radio, Canberra

David Williams AM on 50 years of Fellows (MP3 3.2 Meg)

George Dreyfus on his time as a Fellow - Part 1 (MP3 6.5 Meg)

George Dreyfus on his time as a Fellow - Part 2 (MP3 6.8 Meg)

Interviews courtesy ArtSound Canberra, 92.7 FM.


Search this site only

Updated:  5 April 2019/Responsible Officer:  CASS Marketing & Communications/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications