2023 CASS Award Winners Named

The 2023 College of Arts and Social Sciences (CASS) Awards for Excellence have been awarded in a ceremony at the Research School of Social Sciences building on Thursday 7 December.

Divided into three categories; education, research and professional staff, these awards highlight the achievements of those within our college and recognise their contributions to ongoing knowledge and advancement in their fields.

CASS Dean, Professor Bronwyn Parry said: “We are excited to introduce two new categories for our 2023 awards, extending the honours to recognise the outstanding work of our researchers and professional staff.

“This year we had another excellent pool of applications, and we’re confident the winners effectively demonstrate the effort and commitment brought to our college by our community.

“2023 was another fantastic year for CASS, with strides being made by our students, tutors, academic supervisors, researchers, executive and staff, so I’m pleased we could gather to celebrate and reflect.

“Please join me in congratulating the winners and celebrating the contributions they have made this year.”


Awards for Excellence in Education

Excellence in Supervision

Winner: Association Professor Yujie Zhu

Centre for Heritage and Museum Studies

Outstanding Contribution to Curriculum Reform

Team Award for the Master of Anthropology and Planetary Futures

Winners: Associate Professor Caroline Schuster, Associate Professor Alison Behie, Associate Professor Sverre Molland, Associate Professor Yasmine Musharbash

School of Archaeology and Anthropology

Commitment to Inclusion, Diversity, Equity and Accessibility (IDEA)

Winner: Giverney Ainscough

Centre of Social Research & Methods

Excellence in Student Experience

Winner: Dr Claire Hansen

School of Literature, Languages and Linguistics

Winner: Associate Professor Catherine Frieman

School of Archaeology and Anthropology

Excellence in Tutoring or Demonstrating

Winner: Finnuala Morgan

School of Literature, Languages and Linguistics

Winner: Dilnoza Ubaydullaeva

School of Politics and International Relations


Awards for Excellence in Research

Excellence in Emerging Early Career Research

Winner: Dr Millicent Weber

School of Literature, Languages and Linguistics

Excellence in Advancing Research

Winner: Dr Emily Corner

Centre for Social Research and Methods

Winner: Associate Professor Brian Hedden

School of Philosophy

Excellence in Impact and Engagement

Team Winners: Dr Katherine Carroll, Professor Catherine Waldby, Dr Debbie Noble-Carr, Dr Rebecca Mayo, Ms Lucy Irvine

Winner: Associate Professor Christopher Sainsbury

School of Music

Outstanding Contribution to Research Culture

Winner: Professor Rosalind Smith

School of Literature, Languages and Linguistics


Professional Staff Awards

Commitment to Inclusion, Diversity, Equity and Accessibility (IDEA)

Winner: Ms Perri Chapman, Centre Manager, CSRM, RSSS

Supporting Workplace Innovation

Winner: Mr Frank Filardo, HAL Administration Manager, RSHA

Excellence in Engagement and CASS Community Participation

Winner: Ms Emma Beer, Technical Services Team Coordinator, SOMAD, RSHA

Team Winner: CASS Human Resources Team (Ms Karen Ford, Ms Lauren Sayers, Ms Frankie Cox, Ms Vivian Wong, Ms Cindy Ng, Ms Annabelle Granger, Ms Hayley Johnston)

Outstanding Contribution to Leadership and Culture

Winner: Ms Rachael Heal, HAL School Manager, RSHA

Winner: Dr Rebecca Payne, Senior Manager, Research Services Hub


For more information on the awards and the winners, head to the CASS intranet.