Collaborative Doctoral Program PhD Scholarships

Up to four joint prestigious PhD scholarships will be offered by flagship national institutions in partnership with the Centre for Heritage and Museum Studies (CHMS) in the ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences.

A Collaborative Doctoral Scholarship will allow the scholarship holder to benefit from the diverse scholarly and professional opportunities afforded by being co-located in a world-class research university and a major national institution. The partner institutions are: the National Archives of Australia (the Ian Maclean Scholarship), the National Film and Sound Archive, the National Museum of Australian and the Australian Parliamentary Library (Department of Parliamentary Services).

The successful applicants will enroll in the Interdisciplinary and Cross-Cultural Research graduate program at ANU and be embedded in the relevant Institution for part of their candidature.

The PhD can be completed by a combination of a range of formats including an exhibition or equivalent non-traditional output. Thesis by publication or scholarly edition are also possible.

Applicants are invited to develop a proposal from a broad list of areas identified by each partner Institution. Further details are available on the following links:

For enquiries contact Dr Alexandra Dellios (alexandra [dot] dellios [at] anu [dot] edu [dot] au (subject: Collaborative%20Doctoral%20Program%20PhD%20Scholarships%20enquiry) ) or Professor Laurajane Smith (laurajane [dot] smith [at] anu [dot] edu [dot] au (subject: Collaborative%20Doctoral%20Program%20PhD%20Scholarships%20enquiry) ).

Note: to be considered applicants must also apply for entry into the ANU PhD program and scholarship round closing on 31 October 2019.

Search this site only

Updated:  14 October 2019/Responsible Officer:  CASS Marketing & Communications/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications