You are here

CASS scholars win ANU Media awards for excellence

Image shows Ken Lampl, Liz Allen, Brian Schmidt, Ken Lampl, Ella Sayers and Richard Whiteley

From left: Prof Ken Lampl, Dr Liz Allen, Vice Chancellor Brian Schmidt, Prof Ken Lampl, Ms Ella Sayers and Dr Richard Whiteley. Images: Stuart Hay/ANU

Wednesday 29 November 2017

Three CASS scholars have won 2017 ANU Media and Outreach Awards for showcasing their expertise beyond the academy.

Demographer Dr Liz Allen of the Centre for Social Research and Methods, and Professor Ken Lampl, Head of the School of Music, both received the Vice-Chancellor Brian Schmidt's Award for Advancing the Reputation of the University Through Media.

Head of Glass Workshop at the ANU School of Art and Design, Dr Richard Whiteley, and Professor Lampl, both received the Outreach Award for Contribution to the Community for their roles in making the glass trophy and theme music respectively for the 2018 Australian Of The Year Awards.

They shared their honour with Ella Sayers of ANU Maker Space in the School of Physics, who helped bring the trophy design off the paper and into three dimensions, using 3-D printing technology to perfect the prototype and trophy moulds.


Updated:  17 February, 2018/Responsible Officer:  College Dean/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications