Distinguished CASS alumni recognised with Australia Day Honours

 Ian Darling AO
Ian Darling AO
Friday 2 February 2018
Distinguished ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences alumni have been honoured in the 2018 Australia Day Awards for their contribution to Australia.
Leading the CASS honours was Professor Janet McCalman, who completed her PhD in History at ANU. Professor McCalman, who was acknowledged for her eminent service to education, particularly in the field of social history, was appointed a Companion in the Order of Australia (AC). 
Documentary film director, producer and philanthropist Mr Ian Darling (BA ’85) was named an Officer (AO) in the General Division of the Order of Australia for distinguished service to documentary film production, to the performing arts, education and community engagement, and to social welfare organisations through philanthropic endeavours. He is the Executive Chair and Founder of Shark Island Institute and has among his credits the award-winning documentary Paul Kelly – Stories of Me. 
Philanthropist Mr John Mitchell (BA '82), a long-term ANU supporter, was awarded an Honorary Degree at the 2017 December graduation ceremonies. Mr Mitchell’s service to the community as a philanthropist was recognised with an OAM. 
Ms Dianne Thompson (BA '83), Mr Jan Paulga (BA '00), and H.E. Mr Glenn White (BA '01) were also honoured the Medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia in the General Division.
Founder and Artistic Director of the Bungendore Woodworks Gallery, Mr David MacLaren (BA ’66), received the Medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia in the Honorary Division for service to the art of woodwork, and to the community of Bungendore.
Dr David Lloyd PSM (BA (Hons) '89, LLB(Hons) '91, GDLP '96), Professor Maria Crotty (BA '79), Mr Kevin Bradley (BA (Hons) '03), and Mr Phillip Green (LittB (Hons)) were awarded the Public Service Medal. 
Acting Vice-Chancellor Professor Margaret Harding said the latest Honours were well deserved and the winners had made a magnificent contribution to the University and to Australian society.
"The Australia Day Honours are magnificent recognition for members of our ANU community who have given a lifetime of service to improve life both in Australia and around the world," Professor Harding said.
Search this site only

Updated:  2 February 2018/Responsible Officer:  CASS Marketing & Communications/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications